The Bane of Love – Chapter three

Chapter Three: Sarah?

annie-spratt-298420-unsplash

Sarah, I thought she would be the one that would change the curse. I thought she’d be the one to make a difference. I thought the curse would lift. I was naive and foolish.

A part of me hates myself. A part of me felt as if it was my fault for the curse. I had so much anger and pain. I rejected Sarah’s religion in my heart. I still felt better against God.

When the day came. When the clouds went into darkness. I found her. She had been poison, for five years we were happy. This time, it wasn’t the witch it a someone else.  Regardless of that, she came to gloat in my face. I wanted to strangle her. I kept getting my heart broken, over and over.

I fell to my knees in front of the Ghost.

“It is not a cruel fate to me? Your laughter-Why does not kill me?! That would be swifter!” I begged to her.

She shriek.

“Deary, I enjoy your misery. Even when death would be tempting to bring upon you!” she said.

“Death? Please? No more, I can’t live forever in this hell!” I said.

She laughed. “No!” Then she then left me crying.

It started raining. I was right next to Sarah; she was dead. I sat and cried for hours. I had so many emotional broken bones. Along with physical wounds from the abuse of so many others. I knew I had to run away. They blamed me. I decided to find a way to hide from everyone. I ran away found a forest and far away from everyone. I lived in a tree. I was stuck there and angry at the world. I hate everyone, and my feeling festered. The next ten years I grew bitter and sour and resentful.

That was when my dark side came out. Anyone found near me; I would kill. I embrace the hatred and the angry and the rejection of a higher power. I fell far from the goodness of life.

In turn, to my surprise, though I felt worse than after killing these people. I would scratch my skin till it bled. I started hearing voices; I start hallucinating seeing Mistia, Sarah, and my dad. Not only that I saw the darn witch. I hated that wicked smile. She was enjoying my misery. I would cry for days at a time.

“Cry?!” The witch laughed

“That’s right you spoiled brat!” She said.

“SHUT UP! WITCH!” I said.

She laughed and laughed, Shriek and gloated.

When the to darken hour came a light embraced me.

“There is always hope!”

I looked up and what stood before me was a wizard of the light.

She shrieks and ran away from him. He reached out his hand, and he was in blue robes.  He was older than me. He didn’t shave.

He was lite up like a star.

“Who are you?!” I asked.

“That does not matter,”

“Take my hand child,” he said.

I took his hand. I felt warm and comforted.

“Come, Walk with me!”

I did so and walked through his forest. He stated his name as Archinon the archmage of good and bravery. He said that he was hunting for me because he heard my spirit crying in the night. he said He dealt with the witch before. he said He can ease my pain but when he thought he could do something about my curse he was ripped from this world and taken to another.

I had lost everything. The witch came back and for another three months, she tortured me. She reminded of every mistake I made. She reminded of everything I had gone horribly wrong.

When I killed the last man, he held a book in his hand. It reads on the cover.

“To Verlin, From Achinon,”

It read that I was a line of wizard kings.  He was part of a line of Sorcerers that ruled many realms. The sad point was they were in a war against the embodiment jealousy, anger, hate, and pure poison. They fought against the very fabric of snakes. The evil beings were like snakes and of absolute darkness. It said that the only hope was as the Mistia said. It stated that to find true love would cure the curse. He indicated that he liked me. He mentioned that I should come back from the darkness and back into the light. Achinon said he was a relative of mine.

The next day, I walk into civilization once more. This time, I had a mission to find love for myself, to save myself, to take an initiative.

It took me another five years to become a citizen of America. I had changed my name from Verlin to Jim, and that seemed to work. I had to beg and plead for a job. I got a job in southern Ohio as a farmer that works in the field. The world still hated me. That period in my life was rough.

I so used to the abuse. I was numb to it. I lived in a small cottage near an old man’s cave. I drove to work every day. They would ignore me, and daily children would throw stones at me. At night all alone I would cry. I would beat my pillow. I would scream.

One night I heard a whisper around my cabin. Then a knock at my door. I opened the door. Then was when I saw her I felt my heart come back to life. I felt my body no longer numb and broken. I was shocked for words. I was impressed by her looks.

“Verlin?! I assume?!” she said.

I just stared with her black hair and brown eyes.

“What does a cat have your tongue?”

She walked in.

“Please come in!” I said.

“Archinon sent me,” she said.

“You see, Verlin, you must marry, that’s all… ”

I felt my heart start hurting again, and the bitterness comes back.

“How are you going to fix that?”

“I’m going to marry you! Verlin!”

End of chapter 3

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment